Illegal under state law
Reclassification of psilocybin penalties - Individuals caught with small amounts of psilocybin are now subject to a maximum $1,000 fine, up to six months in jail or both. Previously the offense was a third-degree crime and carried a penalty of between three to five years behind bars and fines of up to $15,000.
New Jersey Senate President introduced the bill titled "Psilocybin Behavioral Health Access and Services Act" on June 23, 2023. Read full bill text here.
The bill has been referred to the Senate Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens Committee.
Publish Date: June 24, 2022
Overview: The leader of the New Jersey Senate filed a bill on Thursday that would legalize the possession, home cultivation and gifting of psilocybin mushrooms for adults 21 and older—with provisions that give adults even more freedoms for the psychedelic than are afforded under the state’s current marijuana laws.
Publish Date: February 5, 2021
Overview: New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy (D) signed a psilocybin reform bill into law on Thursday, immediately reclassifying possession of up to an ounce of psychedelic-containing mushrooms as a disorderly persons offense.
We aren't aware of any advocacy groups in this state at this time. If you'd like your group listed here, please contact us with the relevant details. Thank you!
Please click on the state you are interested in to view that state's relevant information:
Things change fast. We'll do our best to stay up to date on the latest legislation for each state. Sign up for updates and we'll send you information on the latest news, legislation changes, advocacy groups, and more. (Don't worry - we hate spam, too. 🍄)